[ Evariste | Forum ]

Andrew Bianco represent the European Unit of the University of Malta. The
European Unit enters into partnership in European projects of diverse
fields in
research and education. Project work is then delegated to University experts
capable of completing the project tasks.

A brief profile of the University focusing mainly on the Engineering Sciences
is at the end of this message. More extensive information about the University
and the European Unit is available from our websites:

For more information
Andrew Bianco
European Unit
University of Malta

Tel: +356 2340 3180

ou le NCP de Malte


Pour ne savoir plus sur l'université de malte

The University of Malta

Today, the University of Malta is a broad-based educational institution which
has ten faculties: Architecture & Civil Engineering; Arts; Dental Surgery;
Economics, Management & Accountancy; Education; Engineering; Laws; Medicine &
Surgery; Science; Theology. There are also several institutes which cater, in
an interdisciplinary way, for special interest areas. Its academic staff, who
number approximately 550, participate regularly in both local and
research projects. Many of them have taken part or are, at present,
participating in FP5 projects. Resources in research and education are the
important growth-stimulating instruments today. In the context of EU
enlargement, they are one of the most important ways in which societies and
regions can be connected.

The administrative set up of the University of Malta involves a number of
academic and non-academic staff members who are appointed or elected to the
various governing bodies of the University. The principal officers of the
University are the Chancellor, the Pro-Chancellor, the Rector, the
the Registrar, the Deans of the Faculties as well as the Finance Officer and
the Librarian. The main governing bodies are the Council, the Senate and the
Faculty Boards

The Faculty of Engineering is located on the main university campus, providing
instruction and supervision to about 250 students at both the undergraduate
postgraduate levels. The Faculty runs a number of laboratories including
electrical power and machines, telecommunications, control, electronics and IC
design, metallurgy and materials, CAD, manufacturing, industrial automation,
industrial metrology, fluids, mechanics, and thermodynamics. 

The academic staff members of the Faculty are divided into six departments:
Mechanical Engineering, Manufacturing Engineering, Metallurgy and Materials
Engineering, Electrical Power and Control Engineering, Microelectronics, and
Communications and Computer Engineering. The Faculty Members are active in
research as well as in engineering consulting and some hold key positions in
several industries and institutions around the country. 

The Department of Communications and Computer Engineering developed from the
split in 1995 from the then Electrical Engineering Department. The focus has
been the area of information engineering encompassing computer systems and
communication systems. The Department is therefore responsible for this area
within the B.Eng. degree as well as within the B.Sc. I.T. degree.

The research objective of this department is to study the efficient, secure
reliable transmission of speech, image, video and other data sources over
various communication channels, with special emphasis on mobile channels. 

The Ministers responsible for higher education in France, Germany, the United
Kingdom and Italy, during the Sorbonne Declaration committed themselves to
encourage a common frame of reference for Higher Education in order to improve
external recognition of degrees and facilitate student mobility. The Joint
Declaration on "The European Higher Education Area" adopted by 29 European
education Ministers and Head of Institutes, in Bologna on 19 June 1999 lists
the objectives known collectively as the Bologna Declaration.

The fact that the Bologna Declaration is the key to successful educational
reform has long been recognised by the University of Malta. Through the
commitment that the University is constantly showing towards the Bologna
Declaration, it is evident that Malta currently is an active participant, a
healthy partner and an influential figure in the building of the European
Higher Education area. Indeed, Malta will strive to continue to be both
beneficiary and contributor to the development of Higher Education in
Europe in
the forthcoming years.
In an effort to enhance the cultural integration of Maltese students, the
University of Malta has invested substantially in improving the quality and
"European dimension" within its Faculties and Institutions. The international
strategy of the University is centred on the credence that international
representation in Higher Education plays a central role in the development of
both human beings and modern societies as this enhances social, cultural and
economic development, active citizenship and ethical values.


Andrew Bianco

Ce message vous est diffusé par Patrick SCHOULLER
NCP français du programme ETEN


Ministère de l'Economie des Finances et de l'Industrie
Représentant national aux comités des programmes IST, E-TEN, E-CONTENT, SIAP
Point de contact national E-TEN et SIAP